We are all one decision away from a completely different life.

14908262_10154195978283195_6907320452827746662_n.jpgSo, once upon a time you were an ‘ordinary girl’ you wore jeans, explored in make up and went out jogging in the evening’s… the world was your oyster. You didn’t even know there was another world out there, another life, another religion called Islam. But somehow, by the grace of Allah you are here. You are interested, you are learning and you feel intrigued.

Subhan’Allah.

Sometimes, we let the smallest things put us off from doing something. In our head’s it is huge! For example, my own weakness is cooking. If I had to host a dinner party, I wouldn’t know where to start. I can cook lunch for my family & I but I wouldn’t have the confidence/knowledge to cook for a party of people. It’s just not something I am familiar with, it’s just not me.

Whatever that means. We use this excuse all the time, “it’s just not me.” Me. I. Ana. As a person, I cannot tell you who “me” actually is. Every day, I am changing, developing new ideas, learning new things & growing. The ‘me’ I am today, will most definitely be different to ‘me’ in a year’s time. That’s life. So don’t use this excuse too often…

Which brings me to a part of Islam that many of us found difficult, and I know thousands of women who still struggle with…. hijab.

It’s a well known fact that women in Islam are required to wear the hijab. Islam did not invent the head cover however Islam did endorse it.

Albeit Hijab is an obligation, it is beneficial and liberating for women. Like all things in Islam, whatever is made obligatory (i.e has to be done) is neither a burden nor difficult, our Lord is more Merciful than a mother and her new born child? Would she with to make his life hard & stressful? Never, ever. But that doesn’t mean she mollycoddles him & wraps him in bubble wrap so that he never has to do anything on his own.
Similarly, our Lord asks us only for what we are capable of and actually for our own good!

Why is hijab for our own good?

Society constantly tells women they are not good enough; we need to diet more; dress more provocatively and work as hard as men in order to be successful. Women who fall into this trap are prisoners in their own land. Subhan’Allah. Islam relieves women from these worldly pressures, you simply dress to cover your body, you don’t have to feel ashamed if you are not “good enough” and you don’t have to show off if you feel like you are “good enough.” This is equality.

Modesty changes wherever you travel to according to the society. In India, a six inch gap between the Saree and blouse is considered modest. But two inches gap between jeans and top is treated as “Besharam” (Shameful.)

Similarly, in some parts of the Muslim world, hijab is something we wear on our head’s. We wear flip flops, skinny jeans, a small top and then cover our hair with a scarf although, culturally this is hijab, Islamically, this definitely is not. 

Some people feel hijab will take away their femininity. No longer making face, hair and nails beautiful will make them feel masculine…

Hijab is not about covering up your femininity – your beauty. Allah created all of us beautifully hence why a black women wants pale skin and a white women wants dark skin… if all of us accepted who we are and better yet, embraced it. The cosmetic companies would go bankrupt and women would feel liberated.
Beautiful is the woman who knows people, places and things don’t define her. She is defined by her acts of loving kindness and a generous heart.

Don’t cover up just to stop men from looking at you (a common instagator and misconception about hijab) because trust me, men will still look at you.

Don’t cover up because the society/culture you live in expects you to (I haven’t faced this issue personally) but as an Ummah we are quick to judge others without understanding anything about them.

Some people will tell you hijab is an ancient tradition found in all of the Holy Books.

Christians binned their hijabs long ago it’s time for the Muslim’s to do the same…
Remember, Islam and Christianity although similar in some ways, are oftentimes like chalk and cheese.
The whole purpose of hijab in Islam compared to Christianity is vastly different. Islam is about women empowerment and liberation whereas Christianity is all about sumission…to men. Not to God.

It is well known that Catholic Nuns have been wearing hijab for hundreds of years, however the reasoning behind the ‘vail’ in Christianity is vastly different. Let me explain:
St. Paul in the New Testament of the Holy Bible states: “Now I want you to realise that the head of every man is Christ, and the head of every woman is man, and the head of Christ is God. Every man who prays with his head covered dishonors his head. And every woman who prays with her head – uncovered – dishonors her head; she should have her hair cut off, or shaved off. A man ought not to cover his head since he is the Glory of God; but the woman is the Glory of man.” The verse goes on, I urge you to open your Bible and check. It is clear that St Paul’s rationale is that the veil represents a sign of the authority of the man over women.

Let’s skip to today’s world. 60% of people in the UK are Christian (i.e 36 million) That means that the majority of British people accept what is written in the Bible and openly declare that they are Christian which is far superior and much less oppressive than those wicked Muslims…

Recent statistics show men working full-time in the UK earn on average £29,441 per year and women in the same full-time jobs earn only £23,889.

Why is it after 103 years of fighting for equal pay women are still paid less than men?

Islam totally rejects the idea that men are worth anymore than women in any form. Modesty is for both genders. Modesty encompasses: your walk, your talk, your dress, your thinking and your actions.
The world is becoming more “Westernised” and adopting the Secular Democratic ways of the West… i.e practice your religion but in moderation. What does that even mean?

Society and the Secular way of the West is suffocating Muslim women worldwide, holding onto your beliefs will be difficult, you will look strange to many but you can do it. Hold onto your faith, like a rope, on one end is Allah holding on and on the other end, is you.

Little do they know, Islam, by fact, is the only religion in the world to consider women equal in humanity and faith with men.

To sum up, The word hijab comes from the Arabic word “hajaba” meaning to hide from view or to conceal. Wearing hijab is an instruction Allah has given Muslim women as a source of liberation, protection and dignity… “So that she may be known (as a free respectable woman) so as not to be annoyed.”
– Surah 33 Verse 59; Holy Qur’an.

Women are not going to achieve equality by putting our bodies on display. True equality will be had only when women don’t need to display themselves to get attention and won’t need to defend their decision to keep their bodies to themselves.

My advice to you, my sisters around the world: Don’t be afraid of everything alien to you, don’t let the propaganda enter your heart and don’t let society rule your life.

There is no such thing as preference between genders in Islam this is a myth, a problem within cultures and people – nothing to do with Islam.

When a man asked Muhammad (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) to whom should he show the best companionship, he replied:
‘Your mother.’ He said, ‘Then who?’ He said, ‘Your mother.’ He said, ‘Then who?’ He said, ‘Your mother.’ He said, ‘Then who?’ He said, ‘Your father.’

I encourage all my Muslim and non Muslim sisters to dream of changing the world. You are capable of such amazing things, so don’t let society hold you back.

7 thoughts on “We are all one decision away from a completely different life.

  1. Karen Viramontes says:

    What if you have a health reason you cannot wear hijab? Like a legitimate health reason. That you at least have to have your head uncovered.

    Or what if a girl doesn’t have the intention in her heart to wear hijab and only does it for fashion?

    Like

    • Shukrallah says:

      Good Q! What kind of health reason can you think of? Perhaps there is one but I think this would only affect less than 1% of women worldwide (Allah Knows best) but knowing our religion, I’m sure for health reasons she would be exempted as with other parts of our obligations we are exempted like fasting, travelling, danger etc… but I’m sure a scholar would be able to give you the correct answer with proof, too! However, in my opinion there’s no ‘health reason’ to not dress modestly with or without a head-cover.

      If a girl doesn’t have the intention and only wears it for culture (which is not uncommon) then I pray that Allah guides her, purifies her heart and opens up her mind to seek knowledge about Islam and her obligations/rights. Ameen ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Karen Viramontes says:

        There is a health reason. I experience it..
        My Thyroid got so bad over years that my Body Regulating temperature doesn’t work well anymore.
        So I’m already covered but if I put on hijab during the warmer days in the year especially summer I can sweat like crazy and pass out from the heat.
        It happened last year.
        So I cannot wear it because I need something on my body to be free to breath and receive air.

        I have the most intention to wear hijab but I cannot.😔 only to the Masjid especially I can.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shukrallah says:

        I understand, actually my mum used to have an underactive thyroid and now she lives with an overactive thyroid so I am aware of this disease and may Allah cure you.
        Her personally, (she is not Muslim) I often think there are many acts of worship she could not fulfill (like fasting, praying Sunnah/standing etc etc) but Allah would not expect from her (or you) each of us has our own rights and responsibilities.

        BUT.

        Here is the important part: you can still look like a Muslim woman and be identified like the Surah says. It’s your choice of course, but I recommend wearing a hijab but loose and wear a very, very light material – even in the Summer this will cool you! I actually love wearing hijab even in the Summer months (which exceeds 50 here in Egypt) I thought it would be a nightmare but it’s better, for me! I don’t get sunburn anymore (I have very light skin) and you can avoid dark colours in the summer, wear loose clothes, too to keep you cool.
        Most of all, I think it’s mentality over everything. Please don’t think I’m overlooking your disease because you know you best and your body but for me, hijab is a mercy – even in Summer. Think about the Sahaba and their wives (RA) they survived in the desert, Allah will cool you (I don’t mean wear a carpet, go to the beach and ask Allah to cool you and He will) – no. But at the same time, never stop asking Allah to make it easy for you, to cool you, to help you and to cure you ’till then just do the best job YOU can to protect your modesty. Even if you master modest behaviour and thoughts this is another level of hijab that many of us struggle to reach. Hijab is not 100% physical but physically still important, for you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Karen Viramontes says:

        Yes, agree. I am doing pretty awesome in the other areas.☺
        Actually I think I carry myself in a pretty great manner as a Muslimah. And I love covering up because I know personally what not covering up brings us and I dislike the opposite.

        I ask Allah because I’m still also struggling with other health issues. I’m making slow progress Insha-Allah.

        Thank you!☺

        Oh and to be honest I think I was Muslim from birth I just didn’t know it because I never knew about it till a few years ago when I started researching it.

        May 16th I’ll be one year old in Islam 😆❤

        Liked by 3 people

      • Shukrallah says:

        Barakallahu Feeki, that’s amazing to hear and although I ‘wear’ hijab I’m not doing awesome in the other parts of hijab (my thoughts, character etc) so it just goes to show that hijab is more than the pressure society puts on us – may Allah reward you, guide you always and thank you for reading my post.
        I also reverted in the Spring time but I can’t remember the exact date lol I’m awful with remembering dates. Also, I agree with you, we were all born Muslim i/e belief in Allah, it’s our parents who choose how we will practice or sometimes not practice.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

