Syria, Kenya & Africa. Are we open minded?

Continent-of-Africa.jpgFor the last few nights, I have been watching my brothers & sisters in Syria being maliciously and unforgivably attacked by chemical’s. The pictures alone are so gutting and heartbreaking, I can’t imagine how they must be feeling. May Allah mercy them and grant them Jannah and forgive us for not doing more.

The Prophet (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam), warned us about this fact – the cutting up of the Muslim lands, for he said: “You will form different armies, an army in Greater Syria (ash-Sham), an army in ‘Iraq and an army in Yemen.” I asked: “Which one shall I be with O Messenger of Allah?” He said: “I advise you with the (army) of ash-Sham and whoever refuses then let him join the Yemen and beware. For indeed Allah – the Mighty and Majestic – has guaranteed ash-Sham and its people for me.”

Related by Ahmad (5/33), Abu Dawud (1/388), Al-Hakim (4/510) – from ‘Abdullah ibn Hawalah radhiallahu ‘anhu.

A few years ago, I hadn’t even heard of a place called Syria, Palestine or some of the African continents. For some reason, if you don’t take Geography at school… you forget. As a white British person only interested in travelling for my own benefit I hadn’t ever left Europe. Without realising it, I was practising white privilege, I was so naive, blind and ignorant all in one. I easily forgive myself as I eventually left my home town at 19 years old, travelled to Egypt and my life changed forever. Alhamdulillah…

I am still ignorant, we all are, we can’t possibly know everything but the point is now, as a Muslimah, I am trying. I try to learn, I try to educate myself on the politics around the world, even the *forgotten* places. The places that nobody books up for their next vacation abroad…

Apart from my beloved brothers & sisters in Syria, it was just one short year ago that another vicious murderous massacre of university students took place in Kenya in Africa where over 147 died.

But unlike the Je Suis Hebdo massacre in France when the WORLD STOPPED the WORLD is happily enjoying their Easter festivities with NO MARCH BY WORLD LEADERS in Narobi or Garissa.

And the African Union, African leaders and Religious Leaders especially within the Muslim community are as silent as DEATH.

Why does the world stop every year on the anniversary of 9/11 to remember those innocent victims whose life’s were taken? But the rest of the world, literally doesn’t matter. They are not even worth a thought. Subhan’Allah.

IF I was not a Muslim and guided by Allah swt, I would probably end up a disbeliever Autho’Billah with the depressing comparison between the West and every other part of the world…

But, Alhamdulillah, I am Muslim so I can make some sense of this nonsense. Allah swt, is The Most Just. We know this in our hearts, that nothing happens to a believer except that Allah swt will remove his sins, grant him mercy and forgiveness on the DAY that will be atrial bigger and more supreme than all of the world disasters put together.

Subhan’Allah, very hard to imagine but fact, nonetheless.

To a non Muslim, never having left their home country except for a 2 week all-inclusive most likely in a Muslim country but they don’t even know it, I want them to feel empathy for Muslims, black people, Christians, people who dress different to you, people who think different to you… because at the end of the day, they are people, just like you and to be Just we have to care for all humanity the same and stop for a moment and think why? Why does everybody save up for a fornight in New York? Is it because there is something special about New York? Or is it the propaganda around New York, that travelling their is cool and something everybody else does so why not?

I haven’t met anyone who has booked up to visit beautiful, breathe taking Africa? Why? Because Africa is poor and has nothing to offer, right? Because Africa, is unsafe and African terrorists might kill a white person? Because Africa, has no shopping malls and people walk by barefoot? Actually, Africa is home to 1.1 billion people in 54 nations, speaking 2,000 languages. So why does it get generalised as all doom and gloom when 1 in 3 Africans are middle class?

I’m not sure what this post is, but whatever you take from it, don’t call yourself open minded because you believe in gay rights and feminism. Don’t call yourself open minded because you’re not religious but you accept that other people are. Just try to judge less, embrace more & never give up on humanity.

Leave a Reply

