Amilah by Haliga Hagi-Mohammed #BookReview

When you read a book, you hold another’s mind in your hands.

My dream is to have a Book Shelf the size of my apartment which would be at least 30metres? I could be way off – my maths is atrocious.
The one with the ladders… not just for show… my only guests seem to be my mum and my mother in law lol but for me. It’s my goal – may Allah make it come true.
Aswell as this, I want a reading corner, a place to relax, with fairy lights, candles, lots of Arab cushions and blankets… a place to get lost in a book.
Reading has always been my passion but unfortunately, it’s not always accessible. I don’t have a Waterstones nearby and there is no public library to borrow books in Egypt. Alhamdulillah I mostly read online but nothing beats a good book. Recently, I have come across so many that I want to get my hands on…and in particular read one short fictional book that I would like to share with you…

Amilah: A collection of short stories about hope… I didn’t know what to expect from Amilah as I haven’t read any short stories before but I was intrigued. Fortunately, I was not disappointed.

From the first few lines you are drawn in… you feel like you are the elephant in the room with Amilah and her abusive husband, Khalid. As you are reading about her abuse story you, as a woman you feel like you want to be in the room with her to protect her. It hurts to know that for some women this is reality… and not as rare as we think, it’s very common, unfortunately.

The short stories continue to Monkeying Around – A touching, heart-felt story about an American teenager and his co-student Mohammed. I liked the way the boy learned a lesson and how living in America post 9/11 was not an easy thing to do…

From the first few lines of Halima, I am instantly drawn in… despite having things to do I know that I have to read this chapter… who is this poor girl?
“At twenty I contemplated suicide and attempted it a few weeks after I turned twenty one.”
Haniya suffers from depression, that taboo word that no one likes to speak about openly… many people I know suffer from it, male and female. While reading about Haniya’s experience, admittedly I kept thinking, “Please get closer to Allah, that will help you” to then realise she made Qur’an part of her day along with prayer and dhikr.
Maybe I am a bit ignorant too just like Haniya’s family? Haniya’s ongoing struggle with her demons and her desire to please Allah is heartbreaking & so relatable. Although, I personally came to Islam at 22, I often wonder if I would have coped with my religious responsibilities in my teenager days… most probably, not.

My favourite chapter was Case No. 23 – it’s absolutely thrilling for me to learn a bit about the Jinn without freezing from fear. For personal reasons, I simply cannot learn abotu Jinn, it terrifies me to the point that I cry but this didn’t, yet didn’t bore me at all it was amazing!

Overall, a truly hopeful book, so beautifully written and fulfilling. I loved how relatable each and every story was and how I felt like I was with them, following their story and getting to know each character, personally. No matter who you are, I am sure you will love it as I did.

I highly recommend checking out her website, halimawrites.com & check out her Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/halimawrites/

The next book on my #Wishlist is by everyone’s favourite Mufti Menk who is coming out with a book Alhamdulillah, which I am so excited for – May Allah make it heavy on his scale of good deeds and grant him goodness in this world and the next.

https://order.motivationalmoments500.com/product/preorder-hardcopy-motivational-moments/

I also just came across a beautiful illustrative book that I have never seen before, I hope you all love it as much as I do… it’s called #AlhamdulillahFor and the hard copy especially looks like a treasure to keep and pass down to your children in sha Allah…

http://ayeina.com/product/hardcover-gratitude-journal-for-muslims/

Let me know your favourite books and what you are reading at the moment?

2 thoughts on “Amilah by Haliga Hagi-Mohammed #BookReview

  1. Suma Fiore says:

    I love reading book reviews so much. The voice throughout yours was really enjoyable! I, too, want a book shelf the size of my future apartment, or at least a room dedicated to reading.
    Once you get yours with the ladders, I just may want to come and visit, haha. Hopefully it happens, in shaa Allah.

    I must say, I am so so glad that people are more into short story collections. Novels are fantastic, I’m working on one myself, but the short story is another excellent piece of art. I hadn’t heard of Amilah but I am definitely adding it to my book list! Currently reading Wuthering Heights. (Can’t believe it’s my first time reading this classic.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shukrallah says:

      Ameen! Thank you, you would be most welcome to visit! I probably won’t get a library in my house but I want to *at least* make a book shelf and build on my collection. I used to do it when I was a child and spend all of my pocket money on books…. then through my teenage years I completely stopped!
      Nowadays, books are so expensive I prefer to read online and only buy one a month or so…

      I hope Allah swt puts Barakah in your novel! Please let me know when its finished as I would love to support it/read it.

      I’ve never heard of Wuthering Heights, and I’m so glad you enjoyed Amilah – let me know if you do read it & your thoughts in sha Allah!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

