The Sunshine Blogger Award

I was nominated by only other Scottish Muslimah that I know. It couldn’t have come at a better time… it’s been a few weeks since I last pressed “publish” and in the Blogger world that’s more like a few decades……God works in mysterious ways…?

sunshine_blogger_award.jpg

I really wanted to Blog, I have so much on my mind, so many un-finished drafts, so many topics that I really want to discuss and think about but at the same time I have so much going on that really isn’t “so much” but struggling to prioritise means that I’m doing what I can, when I can.

O RasullAllah, how right you are, how wise you are when you told us, “make use of free time before preoccupation.”

And I know, I know we all have busy lives and the same 24 hours in a day. I know that our productivity doesn’t just depend on our circumstances but also our mindset. I know that my theme of writing is to help others, to guide and to advise people but sometimes my cup is empty. Sometimes, I am struggling and I don’t have the same motivation to help others, sometimes I am the one crying, begging Allah to help me & guide me and ease my task.

Hence the recent silence & why I am really looking forward to this Post which is light-hearted & easy to complete. Thank You Safiyah, for thinking about me and may Allah reward you for your beautiful, empowering Blog. May Allah, the One in control of our Affairs make your dream come true of producing a novel that benefits the Ummah & weighs heavy on your scale of good deeds. Ameen.

So here goes! 

The Rules:

 • Thank the person/persons who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.

 • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.

 • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.

 • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

Here are Scottish Muslimah‘s questions and my answers:

  1. What was the last book you read?
    I am currently reading 3 books.
    I was recently sent a Book called “Amilah” by Halima Hagi Mohamed. A combination of short stories that are uplifting and I am thoroughly enjoying…

    I’m also reading, “After You” by Jojo Moyes which is the sequal to “Me before You” – it’s not fantastic, infact I’m not even sure it’s halal to read, AllahuAlem but it’s a light read to relax in the evening…

    I’m also reading and making my own book called, “Ramadan Outstanding” a helpful guide to making Ramadan the best one yet. As it will only be my 3rd year fasting I am always looking for ways to improve. If anyone would like a copy, to then make your own please let me know!

  2. What is your favourite film?
    I have a few but I really like sad films that make me cry. There’s something satisfying about crying your eyes out and feeling compassion for the people, even if it’s fiction. Personally, I love “Blow” no matter how many times I have watched it, I still cry and cry and cry at the end…
    I love Home Alone which just brings back many memories of my childhood & I love Bridesmaids which is hilarious! I also love a film called, the Life of Pi! Which I can’t recommend enough.

  3. What is your guilty pleasure?
    Going to the cinema. I always beg my husband to take me, it’s not his favourite place in the whole world and actually recently I read that it’s not exactly halal (mixing of genders and music etc) but it’s my favourite place to go.

  4. Is there something you love which everyone else hates?
    Some people hate cats whereas I absolutely love them, I stalk them in the street, I always feel happy around cats and they are my favourite animals whereas I know many people who love dogs and I really dislike them, they are scary and not an animal I feel comfortable around.

  5. When was the last time you changed your mind about something?
    I always change my mind, that’s why I prefer to rely on Allah for everything. I can never fully make up my mind switching opinion’s and ideas all of the time. If I am stuck with a choice I pray to Allah and Ask Him to make it easy for me if it is good for me & if it is not, then remove it from me.

  6. What do you love about your best friend?
    My best friend is my husband, I love him for his honesty, generosity and kind soul. I can’t think of a better best friend who I have fun with, joke with but also talk about politics, religion, travel and life. I’d love to say my best friend is Allah but Allah is more my Protector, my Guide, the One who keeps me safe, the One I Trust 100% but also the One I love.

  7. What is your favourite word?
    Love.

  8. What was the last thing you learnt?
    I learned that you can’t pour from an empty cup.

  9. If you could live in any country where would you live?
    I have a dream to live in Saudi. I don’t know if it will ever happen and my family are 100% against the idea, unfortunately but I will definitely make plans to travel there, at least. In sha Allah. I hope it lives up to my expectations.

  10. If you had to live in a period of history, which would it be?
    Easy question ever and something I often think about. I would love to live in the days of the Prophet Muhammad (Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam) to live amongst the Sahaba (RA) and to learn from them. I am grateful, that we have the stories which have been passed down many generations to reach us, Alhamdulillah but imagine meeting them, knowing them, greeting them, being one of them… SubhanAllah – their level of Imaan always makes me feel amazing. May Allah be pleased with all of them.

  11. Who was the last person you said ‘I love you’ to?
    My husband, I say it about 234,546 times a day. lol.
    I also say it in sujood to Allah, I don’t know if this is too informal, or if there is something more befitting that I could say instead? Do let me know in the comments in sha Allah!

    I nominate:

    (Don’t feel you have to take part but I just want to show my appreciation for your blogs)

    1. DpressedMuslimah
    2. Muslimah Misunderstood
    3. The Momin’s Journey
    4. Beauty with Zainy
    5. Muslimah According to Me
    6. The Revert Muslimah
    7. Inspired & Fabulous
    8. Rush To Success
    9. Zara Writes
    10. Sara Writes

      My questions are:

      1. What is one of your favourite Hadith of the Prophet (Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam) & why?
      2. How do you prefer to spend your free time?
      3. Who do you most admire in life & why?
      4. What are your top three favourite books?
      5. What are you afraid of? 
      6. How much water do you drink on an average day?
      7. What was the last picture you took?
      8. How many languages do you speak?
      9. If you could live in any country where would you live?
      10. If money was free, would you still go to work?
      11. What do you love about yourself?

Thank You for reading.

❤

4 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Safiyah says:

    Loved reading your answers! That book of short stories sounds good, I’ll check that out insha’Allah. I also read After You recently, I didn’t love it but like you said it’s one of those easy reads.
    And I love cats too, something so calming and sweet about their presence!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

