Put Allah first, the rest will follow

tumblr_o1gdg5YIn11udg9aho1_500.jpg

When you tell someone your family are non Muslim they look at you like… and your point is?

There’s barely a reaction.

When you tell people someone in my family has cancer…went bankrupt…is poor – everyone is instantly shocked, they feel empathy and can feel the trial and make a silent du’a to Allah that it’s not them.

But when we tell people our family, our most loved ones, the people who brought us up, the siblings we played with for hours and later fought with, the nieces and nephews who we love so much our hearts could explode – don’t believe in Allah and their Akhirah is at risk – to the people it’s no big deal.

Subhan’Allah.

It’s something that worries me often. As a Muslimah, my Akhirah is not fixed. I don’t know where Allah will place me but I live in hope and certainty that Islam is perfect, it’s just me who is flawed.

My family however do not share this belief. My brother especially was my best friend growing up, he taught me how to sleep whenever there was loud music playing in the room next door. He protected me when girls at school wanted to beat me up. He looked after me when we had no home, no money and no family. He did more for me than I can ever thank him that’s why it hurts so much when I see us drift so far apart as adults… & I don’t know how to help him, I don’t even see him. I have tears in my eyes just writing this. If there’s one person I wish would come to Islam is my brother, but I know,
“Indeed you cannot Guide whom you love, but Allah Guides whom He wills.”
– Surah Al Qasas Verse 56.

 

One night I was staring at the TV. I was watching Huda Tv – an English speaking programme about Islam. It’s always on whenever I am at home but at the moment, I am just staring, I’m not really concentrating and then I heard the Shaykh recite this Ayah Subhan’Allah…

‘And it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and it may be that you like a thing which is bad for you.’
– Surah Al Baqarah Verse 216.

I don’t like being thousands of miles away from my family, to barely see them, to grow up closer than most siblings & then becoming strangers as adults makes me feel so guilty but maybe that is Allah’s protection. They are not going to help my Deen in any way. Perhaps, they are not ready for the message of Islam.

I live in hope that one day just by being me they will embrace Islam. I live in hope that Allah swt is the Most Kind, Generous & Loving. Ultimately, He is the Guide. He guided me, despite the odds so I will never give up.

May Allah guide our non Muslim families ❤❤

That ache in your heart
is just as temporary
as the temporary world
that caused it

❤

Leave a Reply

