Look for the good in everyone, even yourself.

tumblr_mwd6n0f8lv1qhgdeuo1_500

Shaytan works in clever ways. He is most experienced when it comes to making us fall into error and going astray. He works in manipulative ways and has a huge success rate in convincing us that we are unforgivable.

Ever since I got a new perfume as a present, Shaytan’s whispers tells me to wear it outside. Every. Single. Day. “Perhaps you stink, no one will smell a little, just wear a little, it’s better to smell of perfume than to smell bad.” All of these conniving thoughts are coming to my head thick and fast.

Similarly, he sometimes makes me feel like a hypocrite. A fake Muslim… Granted I am one of few who wears hijab, I try to wear it long and loose and covering my shape. Shaytan’s whispers tells me I might aswell remove my hijab because I’m only showing the world that I am Muslim – not actually doing anything to make me Muslim. Of course I pray but only Fard. I rarely fast Sunnah and sometimes don’t read Qur’an for days on end…

I found the solution. The solution is Allah. He is Our Protector. By His will we be able to combat these whispers of Shaytan. Through being sincere in our intentions we will reep the rewards.

“Sincerity is a perfume hidden deep in the heart, but it’s fragrance emanates from the person.”

– Ibn Al-Jawzī

 

To feel better about our deeds we need to do more and keep it a top secret between ourselves and Allah. We need to give charity as often as we can and forget about it as soon as it’s done. We need to pray through the night for at least ten minutes to ensure ourselves that we can pray to Allah when nobody else knows. We need to fast and pretend to others like we are full up and fulfilled. This will ensure that we are not fake Muslims and Shaytan’s whispers will not affect us, as much.

One of the most sincere acts you can do is to wake up through the night with no other purpose but to worship Allah. This is what makes you different, this is what keeps you guided knowing that Allah chose you to worship Him as He deserves to be worshipped.

So when you have finished [your duties], then stand up [for worship].

Qur’an 94:7

‘O Allah! Make me better than what they think of me and forgive me for what they do not know about me, and do not take me to account for what they say about me.’
– Abu Bakr (RA)

❤

6 thoughts on “Look for the good in everyone, even yourself.

  1. ashleybounoura says:

    Salaam! I really enjoyed this one..I know it isn’t the main point but I had the exact same struggle with perfume for the longest time. It was only recently that I was able to fully stop wearing it outside, and only wear it at night when I’m home with my husband. Jazakallah khair for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shukrallah says:

      Walaikum Asalaam!

      Thank you so much! Surprisingly, I quit wearing perfume outside long before I even wore hijab… it made sense to me to give up and Alhamdulillah I didn’t struggle – I just stopped buying it too! Then, recently got it as a present and all of these whispers came to me, all the time! SubhanAllah.
      May Allah keep us on the Straight Path and reward you with goodness in abundance.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ashleybounoura says:

        Ameen 😊 my husband is a perfume addict and he loves when I wear it, so he always buys it for me! But alhamdulillah now that I have made the resolution there is no goin back! He can enjoy it at night, and it will last longer that way too

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

