She believed she could, so she did.

59f9efde68e9fc3d4892676eb3dd8648.jpg

Don’t let anything hold you back, from doing anything you want to do. Especially not yourself…

Sometimes we are our own worst enemies. We treat our enemies better than we treat ourselves… We don’t believe that we are good enough, or ready or maybe our hijab is the reason or how can I fit into an environment without compromising my Deen?

Belief in Allah, belief that whatever has been Decreed for you is already Written and belief that Du’a is the weapon of a believer… belief that if it is good for you, and Allah wills – IT WILL HAPPEN and also, belief in your yourself, your capabilities and potential.

As women, there is a common belief that hijab is not welcome. We’re going to have to stay at home for the rest of our lives because no one wants to employ a woman in hijab…

Put these evil thought to rest. Shaytan wants you to feel that you are worthless and the only way to get a job is to disobey Allah. The truth is, whatever job you are going for isn’t worth disobeying Allah. As Muslims we strive to be believers i/e “I hear and I obey.”

I had hundreds of “no’s” after I began to wear hijab, I felt deprived, unfair treatment, lost, sad, religiously attacked {by Muslims} for a long time…

Then I realised, Allah is saving me. These jobs I am applying for are not good for me, they are not beneficial and they do not ensure a good environment for me. Allah was trying to get me to move on…

The right job will come, the right opportunity will come, your life will fall into place and if you can say that you waited patiently, through patience and prayer… you held on to the Rope of Allah and you felt grateful: even when you had nothing then Allah will reward you in ways you could never imagine… more than your own expectations, goals and dreams.

All you have to do is keep to the Straight Path.

Some people give in, they take off the hijab at work, they shake hands with their colleagues because it’s uncomfortable but the way I see it is, the Prophet (Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam)was the most mannerly, humble, pleasant man ever created by Allah subḥānahu wa ta’āla. He was the walking Qur’an. His manners were impeccable and yet, he simply replied, “I do not shake hands with women.”

Are we more polite than the Prophet (Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam)?

Astaghfirullah or is the Prophet (Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam) teachings not applicable for the 21st century?

Astaghfirullah the problem is us, not the religion. The problem is we are not proud Muslims and that has to change.

Other cultures and religions don’t have a hard time practicing their norms. For example, in Romania, kissing and hugging is the norm. Older men used to kiss a woman‘s hand instead of shake hands when they were introduced or when they met for example in the street.

Whereas in India, Men hug men and women hug women. Grandparents are not to be hugged, you are supposed to touch their feet and receive blessings for a long life, a speedy marriage, numerous children, etc. Kissing is a big no-no. Only infants are to be publicly kissed.

In the Arab world, men kiss men on the cheek (up to 5 times) and women kiss women and in The Phillipines men do not kiss other men: it’s just not ‘manly’ for most Filipino men.

We all have the right to stick to our customs, traditions and norms.

Be YOU. Be positivily, comfortably you and don’t change yourself for anyone and if you have to change, make sure it’s for Allah subḥānahu wa ta’āla and I guarantee it will be for the better.

 

4 thoughts on “She believed she could, so she did.

  1. Chelsea says:

    Aww this is a great post and a great reminder! It’s so true when we’re surrounded by a culture that see’s us as a ‘bad’ just because we are different we can start giving into that and becoming embarrassed of our faith but the most important thing to do is stay true to our beliefs and present ourselves as proud Muslims whether people like it or not!

    Like

    • Shukrallah says:

      It’s a lot easier said than done, I fully appreciate but with confidence it can be done! I have a new job coming up so we’ll see if I put my preaching into practice. May Allah make it easy for us!

      Like

  2. Aishah says:

    I loved the comment you made about Allah saving you. I remember in my teens, everyone had a job in the retail industry and I found it so hard to find one. I ended up in a call centre. Looking back, I think this was a blessing. I was paid more, got to sit comfortably and did not have to deal with people face-to-face which can be problematic. I know have the best job in the world that I know will be heavy on my scale of good deeds in shaa Allah.

    My hijab has always empowered me and made sure it is my brain that is looked at rather than my body or physical apperance.

    Great post sis!
    Aishah
    http://www.grainsandgains.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shukrallah says:

      Subhan’Allah it’s amazing how everything eventually works out and we don’t always get what we want, but we eventually get what we need… AllahuAkbar! God is truly amazing!
      Alhamdulillah may Allah reward you for all your hard work!
      Me too, hijab is not a burden at all and so far, it’s like I’m not wearing anything on my head everyone treats me “normally”
      Welcome back to Blogging sis!

      Like

Leave a Reply

