6 Things You Have Learned In Life (But Already Forgot)

12717908_1689273341329369_7748696424154329083_n

1) Some people will never change.

As you grow older, evolve and change – you expect the same from others but sometimes people mature later on in life and other people stay stuck for longer. They are still trying to figure out who they are and what the purpose of life is. Subhan’Allah some people die before they find it… Alhamdulilllah for being guided to Islam. The biggest blessing in my entire life.

2) You will be extremely grateful that some things didn’t work out the way you once wanted them to.

LOL when I was 18 I dreamed of being married to a tattoo’d white rapper. I have no idea what the fascination was but I was obsessed. That seemed to be my only goal in life, alongwith learning lyrics to his songs. Fast forward 6 years, I cannot help but laugh and cringe. I’m now happily married to an Egyptian man – something I never thought would have happened in a million years. Allah is the best of planners. If you trust Allah, He will plan your life better than your own dreams. After all, He Knows what’s best for you.

3) You are growing. You’re not the same person you were a year ago.

Isn’t that the truth?! Although when we look in the mirror we don’t see a change. We don’t even notice our hair growing, it just grows. We don’t notice that our once ‘perfect‘ skin isn’t so perfect anymore and the time we used to spend on pampering ourselves, applying make-up, doing our hair… seems so irrelevant and seriously, where does one find the time to do that every day anyway?! Growing up = sacrifice. You eventually realise that the world does not in fact revolve around you, and that’s ok. You like that idea, helping others, choosing others and making others happy is a much better feeling than focusing on ourselves.

4) It’s useless to stress yourself out about things you cannot change. Move on. Let it go. Get over it.

Most people stress out over family members, close friends, spouses etc… Not me. I went through a stage of stressing out over complete strangers. Sometimes I’d be in tears because of the things I’d see people do, the way they would flirt with people, openly smoke, openly disregard their religion and abandon prayer. I could not understand how it was possible for a Muslim to not follow Islam. And then I woke up LOL reality check the world is not fairies and rainbows as I’d once thought. There are bad Muslims and good Muslims, good people and bad people. No one is perfect and the only thing we should ever stress over, if anything is ourselves. Our own relationship with God and do our best to ensure that He will be pleased with us, not others.

5) A strong friendship doesn’t need daily conversations. As long as the relationship lives in your heart… true friends will never part.

This goes for family too. Sometimes I don’t speak to my own siblings for more than 6 months (although regrettably, I know I should make more effort) the point is, I barely see my friends or family due to living abroad… I do what I can, with what I have. I keep in touch, I care and I make Du’a for my friends and family all the time. I don’t need to see my friends/family every day to know that they care, if I need them they will be there and vice versa.

6) You have overcome challenges before. You have picked yourself up, dusted yourself off and started again.

Remember that time you thought your life had ended? Remember the pain you went through and thought you’d never survive. Remember the people who helped you, picked you up and most of all Allah had Mercy on you. “Verily after difficulty there is ease” Allah does not burden any soul more than it can bear.  Although sometimes, life gets hard, really hard. Know that somewhere, someone else is going through something much harder than you, know that you have Allah and that is enough to get you through the darkest of days. Know that this life is temporary and if you are patient and grateful Allah promises to reward you with a reward unlike anything you can imagine…. Paradise.

2 thoughts on “6 Things You Have Learned In Life (But Already Forgot)

Leave a Reply

