Take a second to think about how blessed you are.

This time last year I felt in awe of Islam.. I loved God and I felt thrilled at the thought of becoming Muslim… but what would my family think? What would my friends think? What about the hijab, do I have to wear it? What if… what if… what if…

Despite the challenges & despite the fear I had a deep connection with Islam in the short months I had started to learn about it. The more I learned, the more I loved Allah subḥānahu wa ta’āla and the Prophet Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam. The more I felt the chains of society become looser and looser, I felt transformed into a new person who could think and act freely, no longer wishing to please people but to please the One who created us. It made more sense to aspire to please Him, the One who made me, and the One who made the people I was worried about… The One in control of life, the sun, the stars, the universe. If I put my Trust in Him, how blessed am I?

Mankind varies, not only from continent to continent around the globe but even two people grown up together with the same parents can be like chalk and cheese.
This is how I found my previous experience as a Christian compared to Islam. Although, we have some similarities and beliefs, the way Christianity has gone astray and has no originality or authenticity compared to Islam was enough reason to convert.

I loved that despite the Qur’an being a Book, the word Qur’an means ‘the Book recited over and over…’ and that’s exactly what it is. Around the globe, in every household, in every mosque, people, ordinary people like you & I recite from the Qur’an. They don’t just read it like a normal book. They have memorised it chapter by chapter in their hearts and minds. If every Qur’an in the world were to disappear it would be never perish as it is memorised word for word literally by Muslims.

What other Book or religious scripture is? The answer is none.

Allah has 99 Beautiful Names. He is Al-Mu’min – The Inspirer of Faith. He who awakens the light of faith in our hearts. He guides whom He wills…
“And He found you Lost and Guided you…” – My favourite Ayah from the Qur’an. (93:7).
It means so much to me. Once you feel yourself as a Muslimah, and you believe with all your heart that Islam is the way of life for you, and Allah has Guided you out of billions of people whereas you could be lost as you were before, like so many people you feel blessed and humbled and grateful. Alhamdulillah.

Leave a Reply

