My First Sunnah Fast

Today is my first ever sunnah Fast. Just me and my mother in-law. With Ramadhan a matter of months away I thought, why not?

“But to fast is best for you, if you only knew.” Surah 2 Ayah 184; Holy Qur’an.

In Ramadhan it seems like the whole world is fasting. From children to elderly, every Muslim is fasting in Ramadhan. But outside of ramdhan it feels like you’re the only person in the world and it brings back every feeling of why I enjoyed Ramadhan so much. It opened my heart and my mind to the millions of people living in poverty forced to “fast” every day. May Allah have mercy on them.

It makes me cherish even a drop of water. When you feel hungry or thirsty, you imagine all of your favourite meals, someone posts a chocolate cake recipe on Facebook and your mouth waters, you can smell the neighbours lunch cooking and your throat feels dry from not having your normal morning cup of tea – amidst all of this you remember Allah. You remember your purpose in this life. Subhan’allah you feel Blessed, Grateful and in awe of all the millions of Blessings Allah gives us, on a daily and we don’t even blink in gratefulness to Him. How easily we forget…

“And He gave you from all you asked of Him. And if you should count the favor of Allah , you could not enumerate them. Indeed, mankind is [generally] most unjust and ungrateful.” Surah 14 Ayah 34; Holy Qur’an.

I spent the morning helping with the housework – hoping Allah would accept my contribution as it’s sunnah. I wrote on my Blog, helping to share the message of Islam. I watched lectures and Question Time to learn more about my Deen. I prayed and read the Qur’an and pondered on its meanings. I tried to think of all the people in the world with not enough food to go around and how I could help them. I learned more Arabic and set some more life goals I want to achieve. Most of all, I focused on Ramadhan and how I am going to make the most of it this year, try not to procrastinate when I am tired.

As Maghrib approaches I feel dizzy and weak. But I’m powering through trying to keep a smile on my face. If my mother in-law can do it and cook all day, I can do it too.

I’m wondering will Allah accept my Fast? I will certainly make Du’a to Him to accept my good deeds, forgive me for my bad & to make this world a mercy for the people who strive.

The Messenger of Allah Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam said; “Three supplications will not be rejected (by Allah subḥānahu wa ta’āla), the supplication of the parent for his child, the supplication of the one who is fasting, and the supplication of the traveler.”

[Tirmidhi]

Fasting is a challenge, there’s no doubt about it. This life is a challenge that’s why I can’t stress how important it is to be around people that remind you of Allah and bring you Closer to him.
I love the simple conversations I have with my nephew’s. “Why can we not see the Angels Lala?”
I love that my mother in-law talks about a story, or a moment that reminds her of Allah. Subhan’Allah.
I love that my sister in-law, calls me her inspiration to get closer to Allah.
I love that my husband taught me to pray and shows me reminders every single day.
I love that my brother in-law,lost his baby but still found the strength to say Alhamdulillah.
I love to sit down and have lunch and every person says Bismillah.
Surround yourself with people who love Allah and your life will change for the better in sha Allah…

2 thoughts on “My First Sunnah Fast

  1. Khawlah says:

    Masha’Allah, this is a beautiful account of what a powerful blessing it is to fast ❤️ Alhamdulillah. I’m currently trying to make the most of the shorter winter days to increase my nafl fasts. I’m so glad you have such a lovely family around you to always remind you of Allah, it’s so important. May Allah accept all of your fasts, past and future, and may He always keep you close to him, ameen 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shukrallah says:

      Ameen habibty ❤ Thank you so much for your lovely comment, I didn't expect you to leave one but thank you anyway and I hope Allah accepts it from you and inspires you to do as many as you can, while we are still young ❤
      Barakallahi Feek, as always 💞💞

      Like

Leave a Reply

