Sometimes the bad things that happen in our lives put us directly on the path to the best things that will ever happen to us.

“Sometimes the bad things that happen in our lives put us directly on the path to the best things that will ever happen to us.”

I remember reading these exact words, a few years ago, when I was far, far from Islam. Far from anything religious and far away from God…

I was going through the hardest moment of my life, I felt like my heart and soul were shattered and I had that ‘stomach sinking’ feeling… I felt like there was no way out, no solution and no tomorrow; my Faith was low and as a result I made the hardest decision in my life.

Reading this quote made me feel bitter, I didn’t see the ‘silver lining‘ that everyone talks about and I didn’t believe there would ever be a good outcome. Years later, I am pondering about where I am now, who I am now. I feel like a different person, occasionally – albeit rarely –  I get sad and feel like the ‘old me’ is dead and I want her to come back but most of the time I feel blessed, humbled, chosen and insanely calm. I see light where I once saw darkness, every situation I am in and every bad day I think of Allah subḥānahu wa ta’āla and I pray. The feeling of calmness and tranquility is surprising. You should try it sometime…

The hardest decision in my life, that brought many tears and heartbreak ultimately led me to Allah. Led me to Islam. Opened my heart and encouraged me to keep going, to strive for better days. Islam is without a doubt, hand on heart the best thing that ever happened to me. I pray it sticks with me forever and I teach it to my children in sha Allah.

So, if you are struggling, be patient, let go of the pain, just like laughter, your tears too will pass. This life wasn’t designed to be perfect happiness. Eternal happiness is reserved for Jannah.

A lot of people have lost their humanity and it is time to find it again. Do something worth mentioning. Something big. Do Islam.
Just ponder on this, every act you do is either building your reward in Jannah. Or your punishment in Jahannam. Every act.

Don’t bring up the past mistakes and sins of someone who is trying to better themselves, we all deserve the humility of making mistakes as we are human and the opportunity to transform ourselves… 

If you have the chance, always help someone. Privilege is when you think something is not a problem because it’s not a problem to you personally. Islam rejects this way of life. Our Prophet Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam said, “The best of people are those that bring most benefit to the rest of mankind.” He did not say Muslims, we should help everyone we know & even those we don’t.

A writer for the New York Times interviewed a series of people who had survived jumping off the Golden Gate Bridge. Every person she interviewed admitted that about two thirds of the way down, they realised that every seemingly meaningless problem caused them to jump was fixable!
Every single one.

I pray that whoever reads this, that Allah heals whatever is hurting you. Whatever is causing you to cry, whatever is breaking your heart, if it’s stress, anxiety, pain, illness, sadness, worry the loss of a loved one, a broken engagement… anything.
May Allah Grant us ease during this Dunya through our constant disappointments & remember To Allah we Belong and to Allah we all return.

Leave a Reply

