5 things I learned from my Mother (A Non Muslim)

1.Everything happens for a reason.

In good times and bad, she taught me that everything happens for a Divine reason, for a purpose. If nothing bad ever happened to you; you would never appreciate the good.

A story about me: I don’t know the exact story, however my mum told me that her 3rd pregnancy was a miscarriage and she was told by doctors that she cannot conceive again for medical reasons. My mum felt fine about this, she already had two children and was grateful enough. However a year later, she fell pregnant, the doctors were shocked and could not understand how it was possible. That baby was me. They were not sure if I would survive, however everything went fine until labour. They had to do an emergency cesarean on my mum to save my life. Alhamdulillah (All Praise to God) we both survived.

2.God does not burden you with more than you can bear.

I heard my mum say this a lot as we were growing up. It must have got her through the challenges in her life and as an adult it gets me through my darkest moments.

“God does not charge a soul except [with that within] its capacity.” Surah 2 Ayah 286; Holy Qur’an.

3.Stick up for others, speak out against injustice.

“Don’t ever be deceived by numbers. If evil is more, it doesn’t make it right. And if the truth is minority, it doesn’t make it wrong.” As a child, I was always fascinated with the ‘abnormal.‘ I would befriend the boy with a turban on his head, or the girl who had no friends, or the person in the class who was foreign. I was never afraid to like the odd ones and this was encouraged by my mum. Maybe this is why I wasn’t afraid to embrace Islam…

“Indeed, Allah loves those who act justly.” Surah 49 Ayah 9; Holy Qur’an.

The Prophet Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam said “I order you to assist any oppressed person whether he is Muslim or not.”

#Justice #Equality

4.Everything in moderation.

Islam is the religion of moderation. It is the very foundation of Islam. Prophet Muhammad Sall Allāhu ʿalay-hi wa-sallam said, “Take care of 5 before 5; Youth before old age; Health before sickness; Wealth before poverty; Free time before preoccupation & Life before death.”

My mum taught me:
If you enjoy a Starbucks coffee (I really do) with a few hundred calories then have one, but make sure to drink green tea/lemon water for the rest of the week.
If you enjoy wearing heels then wear them however walk bare foot the next day to give relief.
 If you enjoy shopping and spending money then treat yourself but give charity afterwards. If you don’t exercise and going to the gym is your worst nightmare then go walking with a friend, it is a good chance to catch up and you don’t even know you are exercising.
If you like to read magazines, no problem just remember to read about important things aswell (Quran, politics, your studies.)
If you like to work many hours a day to provide for yourself or your family, that is great but don’t forget to live. Your time means everything, spend as much time as you can with family.
Anything that you like to do, do it in moderation. That is the key to not wasting time, to live a healthy and happy life.

5.Respect your elders, watch your manners.

My mum brought us up to be well-mannered and polite, especially towards our elders i.e teachers, mum’s friends etc… This is also part of Islam where the children are to respect their parents and most importantly there is special reference towards mothers in Islam.

When a man asked the Messenger (saw) to whom should he show the best companionship and he replied, “Your mother.” He said, “Then who?” He said, “Your mother.” He said, “Then who?” He said, “Your mother.” He said, “Then who?” He said, “Your father.”

“My Lord, have mercy upon them as they brought me up [when I was] small” Surah 17 Ayah; Holy Qur’an.
Ya Allah, Please give my mother what’s best for her, ease her pain and reward her for every single ounce of pain she ever felt. I wish that every good deed I do, is on her behalf as she brought me up and although she doesn’t know it, I am Muslim today because of her – because she taught me to follow what is right, not to follow the crowd.

My mum is Christian and I am Muslim, but nothing will break our mum & daughter relationship. “For you is your religion and for me is my religion.” Surah 109 Ayah 6; Holy Qur’an.

Leave a Reply

